Surf Life Saving SA Surf Sports and Lifesaving Awards

Surf Life Saving SA held their 2016 Surf Sport and Lifesaving awards last Thursday, recognising various achievements from the 2015/16 season.

To kick off the night the Overall Age Champion Awards were presented. The Overall Age Champion Award is determined using individual points from all Senior Carnivals and State Championships. This years winners were as followed:

U/14 Female Champion: Teah Charlton
U/14 Male Champion: Harrison Dawkins
U/15 Female Champion: Gretel Mead
U/15 Male Champion: Lachlan Merchant
U/17 Female Champion: Sophie Zuill
U/17 Male Champion:Sax Bates
U/19 Female Champion: Sophie Hawkins
U/19 Male Champion: Jack Martin
Open Male Champion: Benjamin Zuill
Open Female Champion: Lily Warric

Followed by the Most Outstanding Master awards which was awarded to Tony Dalton and Jo Sutcliffe for their incredible achievements an effort this season.

Surf Life Saving SA hosted 7 State Championship events this season. The following clubs took out the 2015/16 titles.

IRB State Championships: Brighton SLSC
Pool Rescue State Championships: West Beach SLSC
Board Riding State Championships: Grange SLSC
Lifesaving State Championships: West Beach SLSC
Junior State Championships: Grange SLSC
Senior State Championships: West Beach SLSC
Master State Championships: West Beach SLSC

Glenelg SLSC took out the most improved club by increasing their points tally by a huge 348% from last season.

To finish up the Surf Sport Awards, discipline pennants were awarded to clubs that excelled in certain disciplines for the season. The following pennants were awarded:

Beach Events: Grange SLSC
Ocean Events: West Beach SLSC
Combined Taplin: Grange SLSC
Combined March Past: West Beach SLSC
Combined Surf Boat: Henley SLSC
David Earl IRB Premiership: Brighton SLSC
Brian Donnell Combined R&R: Seacliff SLSC
Overall Champion Club: West Beach SLSC

Surf Life Saving SA also recognised  Lifesavers for their outstanding commitment during the patrolling season.  Members were awarded for their voluntary service to Surf Life Saving this past season. The following members were recognised for completing 150+ Patrol hours.

William Conlon
Chris Fuller
Neil Bisset  
Brodie Batty

Harry Conlon
Brian Burrows
Ben Harris  
Ashley Sanders
Neil Wilson
Jamin Lee 
John Charles
David Lucas
John Coudraye   
John Fretwell 
Jared Schenscher  
Christopher Parsons
Catherine Smith
Peter Jamieson

Sonya Williamson
Steve Evans
Brittany Miller
William (Billy) Jackson
James (Jim) Dale  

Andrew Bedford
Geoff Faulkner  
Callum Silcock
Bernard Tanner  

Last but not least the Chook and Beverly Fielder Patrol Efficiency was awarded to the club  that accumulated the most points on patrol inspections through out the season. West Beach SLSC took out the award for the 2015/16 Season.

Overall the evening was successful an enjoyed by all. Looking forward to another season with all our great members.