CEO Clare Harris Joins Chiefs for Gender Equity

Surf Life Saving SA CEO Clare Harris has been selected among the first female members of the Equal Opportunity Commission’s Chiefs for Gender Equity.

“I am delighted with the invitation to join the Chiefs for Gender Equity. I am passionate about equal opportunities for both genders in business and I am very optimistic that the political will and the current community investment in this issue is ready to make some significant and positive changes to the status of women professionally in South Australia” said Ms Harris. 

The Chiefs for Gender Equity is a group of senior business leaders from prominent South Australian companies representing key industry sectors (legal, finance, accounting, energy, oil and gas, defence, engineering, government and tertiary education) brought together with the common aim of advancing gender equity.

The Chiefs are working to progress sustainable change within their own organisations and to increase the participation of women at the highest levels of industry.

The Chiefs for Gender Equity group is supported by the Equal Opportunity Commissioner of South Australia and aims to educate and encourage other SA businesses to better address gender equity issues in the workplace.

Since its establishment in 2012, the Chiefs for Gender Equity has been an all male group, but next month six women will take a seat at the table. Ms Harris will be joined by Microsoft SA state director Dr Eva Balan-Vnuk, BHP Australian Olympic Dam president Jacqui McGill, Vinehealth Australia’s CEO Inca Pearce and Elder Care chief Jane Pickering.

“The calibre of leaders in the Chiefs for Gender Equity is inspirational; some of SA’s best and brightest are working together to effect beneficial social change. It is wonderful to be a part of it and I look forward to sharing a perspective that has developed through a sport and emergency service lens” said Ms Harris.

The current Members of the Chiefs for Gender Equity are:
•    Scott Ashby, PIRSA
•    Mathew Salisbury | WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
•    Glynn Phillips, BAE Systems
•    Lester Wynn Jones, Westpac
•    David Martin, Finlaysons
•    Christina Paech, Santos
•    Professor Warren Bebbington, University of Adelaide
•    Robb Stobbe, SA Power Networks
•    Con Tragakis, KPMG